Event box

This series provides an opportunity for graduate students with English as an additional language (EAL) to practice their English pronunciation in a small-group setting. In Level 1, participants will meet twice a week for 10 sessions to progress through word-level pronunciation activities in the textbook Clear Speech by Judy Gilbert. Topics include syllables, consonants, vowels and vowel rules, word stress and vowel length and clarity, and word stress patterns.

Participants will be able to use the textbook free of charge within the classroom. However, students who wish to make use of the book outside of the classroom can purchase the book on their own from Amazon or other outlets.

Level 2 will begin October 30, after Level 1 ends. 

There will be no class on Monday, October 9 (Thanksgiving Day) or Wednesday, October 11.

Dates & Times:
11:30am - 12:30pm, Wednesday, September 20, 2017
11:30am - 12:30pm, Monday, September 25, 2017
11:30am - 12:30pm, Wednesday, September 27, 2017
11:30am - 12:30pm, Monday, October 2, 2017
11:30am - 12:30pm, Wednesday, October 4, 2017
11:30am - 12:30pm, Wednesday, October 11, 2017
11:30am - 12:30pm, Monday, October 16, 2017
11:30am - 12:30pm, Wednesday, October 18, 2017
11:30am - 12:30pm, Monday, October 23, 2017
11:30am - 12:30pm, Wednesday, October 25, 2017
Location:
Library 384
Campus:
McLaughlin Library
Categories:
EAL/ESL, Graduate
Registration has closed. (This event has to be booked as part of a series)